The following precincts located in Lyon County have elected to vote by mail ballot procedure in statewide elections as authorized under Minnesota Statute 204B.45.  All other precincts vote at their designated polling place on Election Day.



Amiret Township

Coon Creek Township

Custer Township

Eidsvold Township

Fairview Township

City of Florence

City of Garvin

City of Ghent

Grandview Township

Lake Marshall Township

Lucas Township

Shelburne Township

Sodus Township

Stanley Township

City of Taunton

Vallers Township


For 2018 statewide elections, the election dates and the corresponding dates that ballots will be mailed for the foregoing mail ballot precincts are:

Statewide Primary Election:  August 14, 2018           Ballot Mailing Dates:  July 9 - 31, 2018

Statewide General Election:  November 6, 2018       Ballot Mailing Dates:  October 1 - 23, 2018


Each voter registered by July 24, 2018, for the Statewide Primary Election, and/or October 16, 2018, for the Statewide General Election will be mailed a ballot automatically.


Eligible voters not pre-registered by the dates noted, or pre-registered voters wishing to receive their ballot at a temporary address, may contact the Lyon County Auditor/Treasurer’s office by phone, email, mail, or in person for an absentee ballot application.


All ballots may be returned by mail (a postage prepaid return envelope is included when the ballots are mailed), or may be delivered in person, or delivered by a designated agent to:

      Lyon County Auditor/Treasurer’s office

      Lyon County Government Center, 2nd floor

      607 West Main St

      Marshall MN 56258 


Ballots must be received no later than 8:00 p.m. on Election Day in order to be counted.  Normal business hours are Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.


In addition to the normal business hours, extended hours for mail ballot voting are:

Statewide Primary Election: Saturday, August 11, 2018, from 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.; Monday, August 13, 2018, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Statewide General Election: Saturday, November 3, 2018 from 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.; Monday, November 5, 2018, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.


The polling place for this election will be at the Lyon County Auditor/Treasurer’s office at the address noted above.


The polls will be open:

Statewide Primary Election: Tuesday, August 14, 2018, 7:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Statewide General Election: Tuesday, November 6, 2018 from 7:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.


At least one AutoMARK ballot-marker will be available at that polling place that permit persons with disabilities to vote privately and independently.


The back of the return envelope must be signed by the voter and witnessed by:

  1. Anyone registered to vote in Minnesota, including a spouse or relative
  2. A notary public, or
  3. A person with the authority to administer oaths


Prompt return of voted ballots is encouraged so that any omitted requirements can be corrected in advance of Election Day. 


You can use the Voter Information Portal (VIP) to track the status of your mail ballot - - see


All mail ballots will be counted at the Lyon County Auditor/Treasurer’s office with results posted after 8:00 p.m. on the respective election dates.


Additional information is available by contacting the Lyon County Auditor/Treasurer’s office at 507-537-6724, option 4 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..