Pay Citations Online or By Phone:
Tickets issued by the State Patrol, the Department of Natural Resources, or local law enforcement anywhere in Minnesota can now be paid via an automated phone system or online using a credit card. The service is only available for citations that do not require a mandatory court appearance. Payments can be made by phone at (651) 281-3219 in the Twin Cities metropolitan area or toll-free at 1-800-657-3611, online, at the courthouse in the county where the ticket was issued, or by mail.
The service is part of a Judicial Branch effort to use technology and work process changes to reduce manual data entry and streamline fine payment. The new system is estimated to eventually save the Judicial Branch up to $2.7 million annually and free up as many as 50 court employees statewide for other work.
GRANT PROGRAM INFORMATION
| Grant Name:||State Boat & Water Safety Grant to Counties|
| Project Manager:||County Sheriff|
| Type:||Legislatively-directed appropriation|
Preventing or reducing boating accidents & drownings and making Minnesota's waters safe & enjoyable. This includes boating law enforcement, aids to navigation, response to & intevestigation of boating accidents / drownings, search, rescue, & recovery operations, permitting of events & temp. structures and rental boat inspections.
2012 & 2013 Grants To Lyon County
| ||Grant Period: Jan. 1st 2012 - June 30th 2013|
| ||Amount Expended and Invoiced to date: $1,133.00|
| ||Grant Period: Jan. 1st 2013 - June 30th 2014|
| ||Amount Expended and Invoiced as of 06/30/2013: $30.69|
| ||Amounty Expended and Invoiced to date: $393.96|
In effort to support safe boating practices, DQ certificates are awarded to kids for being caught wearing their life jackets while boating.
MN Stat. 169.686
Primary Seat Belt Law News Release
- Applies to the driver and passengers of a passenger vehicle, commercial motor vehicle, type III vehicle, and type III Head Start vehicle.
- Belts must be used properly — lap belt snug over lap, not abdomen; strap across shoulder, not under arm.
- Belts must be present as produced by manufacturer.
- Driver or passengers 15 years or older are subject to a $25 fine and fined seperately.
- Driver is subject to a $25 fine for passengers under the age of 15.
- Persons driving in a vehicle in reverse.
- Person riding in a vehicle in which all seating positions equipped with safety belts are occupied by other people in safety belts.
- Person who is in possession of a written certificate from a licensed physician veryifying that because of medical unfitness or physical disability, the person is unable to wear a seat belt.
- Person who is actually engaged in work that requires the person to alight from and renter a motor vehicle at frequent intervals and who, while engaged in that work, does not drive or travel in the vehicle at a speed exceeding 25 miles per hour.
- Person driving or riding in a vehicle manufactured before January 1, 1965.
- A rural mail carrier of the U.S. Postal Service or a newspaper delivery person while in the performance of duties.
- Person driving or riding in a pickup truck while engaged in normal farming work or activity.
Permit To Carry A Pistol In Minnesota Frequently Asked Questions
These answers are for information purposes only, further clarification of the law may be addressed by referring directly to Minnesota State Statute 624.714
1. Where can I apply for a permit to carry a pistol?
For Minnesota residents, individuals may obtain permits to carry a pistol by submitting an application and other related documentation to the sheriff in the county where the applicant resides. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff.
2. Can I apply for a permit to carry if I am not a U.S. citizen but have permanent resident status in the United States?
Yes, when you apply you will need to provide the sheriff with your I-551 or I-151 card, whichever one you have been issued.
3. Where can I get a permit to carry application?
Applications will be available at the county sheriff’s office and on the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension’s website:
4. Can a non-resident mail in a permit to carry application or obtain a Minnesota permit to carry without physically being present?
No. Applications must be submitted in person to a Minnesota county sheriff.
5. What are the requirements for getting a permit to carry?
- Must be at least 21 years of age
- Must complete an application form
- Must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under Minnesota Statute 624.714
- Must not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system
- Must be a resident of the county from which you are requesting a permit, if you reside in Minnesota. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff.
- Must provide certificate of completed authorized firearms training. Training by a certified instructor and completed within one year of an original or renewal application. (624.714, Subd. 2a)
Page 2 of 2
611 West Main St
(c) Lyon County, Minnesota
Salary Compliance Notice.