Lyon County is located in Southwest Minnesota approximately 60 miles North of the Iowa border and 60 miles East of the South Dakota border. It’s home to primarily agricultural land and to a variety of industries. The Sheriff’s deputies patrol approximately 721 square miles, and contract police services to the cities of Cottonwood, Balaton, Lynd, Russell, and Ghent. Lyon County Sheriff Deputies are affiliated with the Brown, Lyon, and Redwood Drug Task Force as ERU and Liaison members. Onsite, with the LEC, the Lyon County Sheriff also houses the Correctional Detention Facility, Emergency Management, and is responsible for courthouse safety and security.
Law Enforcement Center Main Entrance
Interesting Fact: Lyon County was established by two legislative acts on March 6, 1868, and March 2, 1869. It’s named after General Nathaniel Lyon, who was killed in the Civil War.